Via Gesù - Milano

Via Gesù was founded as Borgo Lissone, one of the Borghi di Milano with which the streets outside the Roman walls were defined (286/305 A. D.), located on the current route of Via Monte Napoleone.

At the end of the 1400's it assumed its current name after the settlement in the district of Franciscan tertiaryaries, which changed the name of a previous oratory dedicated to Saint Elizabeth into that of Saint Mary of the Child Jesus.

The nuns of Jesus erected a large monastery next to the church which was destroyed in 1783 and where the house of the noble family Lattuada (oggi Palazzo Rizzoli) was erected.

In 700/800, the great Milanese families who moved to the area rebuilt in neoclassical style numerous 500-esque palaces such as the Viansson House or Bagatti-Valsecchi House, which the two brothers amateur architects, with daring pout-pourri of terracotta and graffiti managed to transform creating a fascinating neo-gothic rinascimental atmosphere.

“Via Gesù has a soul...”

Of the narrow and not so narrow streets that intersect in the regularly elegant grids of the world-renown Milanese quadrilatero –the plein air fortress of Italian luxury, well dressing and savoir vivre whose perimeter is indeed quite small, but whose appeal is immensely pervasive all over the world– via Gesù is an unicum. This hush-hush piccola via –“street” being too much of a prosaic label for such an Italian feat of architectural poetry and uttermost harmony– is a linear successions of grand palazzos hiding beautiful gardens –some so big they once housed animals and even stables, causing a stir and some grumpy yet courteous fights in the neighborhood– Fifties and Sixties buildings and a continuous line of gentlemanly shop windows that still retain, in these days of massive globalization, an indisputable local flavour.